Leadership ABQ

Leadership Albuquerque develops knowledgeable and engaged civic leaders. In its 43rd year, the program prepares professionals at all levels and from a variety of industries to expand their influence in their organizations and in our community. Throughout this ten-month course, each cohort of approximately 40 students gains a deep understanding of issues that impact the economic growth and quality of life in our city and state. They enjoy interactions with high-level community leaders, government officials, and industry experts and gain insight into the most important challenges we face.

Leadership ABQ is a 10-month program, running from September through June.

The program begins with an introduction to Leadership ABQ and becoming acquainted with the Greater ABQ Chamber of Commerce. Afterward, the class gathers monthly for curriculum days on various topics including, Public Safety, Education, Economic Development and Diversification, and Downtown Transformation. Throughout the program year, Leadership ABQ participants are assured the following benefits:

  1. ACCESS to top influencers and decision makers in our city and state
  2. Interesting and exciting EXPERIENCES
  3. KNOWLEDGE about the critical issues impacting economic growth and our quality of life
  4. Meaningful CONNECTIONS with other business and civic leaders in Albuquerque
  5. Opportunities for introspection and LEADERSHIP growth

Application guidelines for Leadership ABQ.

Instruction will begin in September and culminate with a one-day professional leadership retreat and graduation in June 2023. Participants will need to dedicate roughly one full day per month to the program. Although our programming for the 2021-2022 class was interrupted slightly due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we have since resumed with more in-person instruction and the class has had an opportunity to hear from truly top-notch presenters. Instruction for the 2022-2023 class will begin in an in-person format (Sept.), and conclude with an in-person leadership retreat and graduation in June of 2023. Tuition for Leadership ABQ participants is $2,925.00 for Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce Investors and $3,925.00 for non-Chamber investors.

Tuition covers meals, materials, fees for speaker bookings, and the graduation ceremony. Occasional parking fees are not included. Limited scholarship funds are available for Chamber Investors. These funds are primarily reserved for small business owners and officers at nonprofit organizations. Accepted applicants who must withdraw may receive a refund 75% of their tuition on or before November 1, 2022 and 50% refund before January 1, 2023. No refunds will be issued after January 1, 2023.

CLASS OF 2021-2022

Each Leadership ABQ class is comprised of a rich variety of dynamic participants, and their sponsoring company or organization.

Ashley Salazar

UNM School of Medicine

Chad McHargue

Chalmers Ford

Claudia Rhodus

Bank of Albuquerque

Deneca Chino

Ambercare-Home Health Care

Fabián Armijo

UNM Hospital

Jason Peters

PNM Resources

Joseph Sánchez

AARP New Mexico

Kristi Kidder

US Eagle

Laura Sánchez

PNM Resources

Leslie Padilla

PNM Resources

Mike McDuffie


Noé Astorga-Corral

Sutin, Thayer & Browne

Robert Smith

New Mexico Gas Company

Sarah McChesney

Verdes Foundation

Thomas Cooper

Wells Fargo

Ashley Sterling

Esparza Digital Advertising

Christina Lounsbury

UNM Health Sciences Center

Claudia Sánchez

New Mexico Mutual

Dionne Miller

Presbyterian Healthcare Services

Gary Loy

Indian Pueblo Cultural Center

Jerry Matthews


Julie Taylor

Hotel Andaluz

Kristin Elder

Blue Cross Blue Shield NM

Lauren Kedge

Rodey Law

Marisa Sánchez

UNM Health Sciences Center

Misty Sanders

French Funerals & Cremations

Omni Warner

PNM Resources

Ryan Carmer

Sandia Laboratory Federal Credit Union

Shedeh Hale

True Health New Mexico

Trey LaFleur

Molina Healthcare of New Mexico

Brandon Carrasco


Christina Ricci

CNM Community College

Delana Mannion

UNM Health Sciences Center

Eric Fuller

The United/Alberstons Market Family

Heather Bassett

Albuquerque Public Schools

José González

UNM Health Sciences Center

Kristi Dorr

Albuquerque Museum Foundation

Kyle Biederwolf

Comcast Corporation

Leanne DeLange

Directed Energy Directorate of Air Force Research Lab

Michael Teske

US Bank

Nicole Castillo

Western Sky Community Care

Ramón Martínez

Western Sky Community Care

Sarah Ganley

Bohannan Huston, Inc.

Steve Ulibarri

Excellent Schools New Mexico

Scroll to Top